Returning for New Angles (and Old Anglo-Saxons)

Today was in part an exercise in venturing back to places we’ve been before for a fresh look. To start with, we headed back to the City to visit the Museum of London, which is located on a site of special historical significance – namely the ruins of the old Londonium wall, built by the Roman Empire between 190 and 220. Yes, by the Romans – about 200 years after Jesus and around 800 before there was much of an England to speak of at all. This is what makes this museum so interesting – the entire focus is a socio-archeological restructuring of the waves of invasion, settlement, and disaster that formed London over the course of 1800 years.

London Wall 1London Wall 2

We then made an actual return – we went back to St. Paul’s Cathedral for a proper tour, and I got to see the incredibly gorgeous interior for the first time;  last time I was in London was midway through a series of badly-needed renovations and repairs on the church. Unfortunately, we weren’t allowed to photograph this, but I did get a couple cool exterior shots:

dome tiplion fountain in the churchyardSt. Pauls from Milleunium Bridge

Sky ANgles

In both cases, though I have to admit my mind was at least partly elsewhere, for a number of reasons, namely:

  • I mistakenly brought my laptop to our short class at the Study Centre – meaning that I had to carry it around all day on my back, and thus was totally unable to climb to the top of the St. Paul’s dome.
  • We were finally given a photo assignment that allowed me to break out into my usual artistic style of photography, and go a bit crazy with it: see below.
  • Lastly but nowhere near leastly, my cousin Nic Accettura surprisingly showed up in London last night, and we’d made plans for the evening. I left my camera behind for this, but he should have pictures up from his iPhone next week.
lazertablebronzeblurShadows walkingAncient Britons

About paperandparticles

Librarianist, webberton and internetizer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

